Title: We’re Going on a Bear Hunt: Activity Fun Book
Author: Michael Rosen
Illustrator: Helen Oxenbury
Publisher: Walker Books
Genre: Children’s activity book
Book format: Paperback
Sweet Strawberries: Sweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet Strawberry

Description: Grab your pens and pencils to join the fun of the bear hunt!  This entertaining activity book is packed with biscuits to bake, things to make, puzzles, colouring and a cast of characters to press out and keep.

*Free copy provided by publisher for review…

Review: This is such a fun activity book that’s just perfect for fans of We’re Going on a Bear Hunt! The book is almost A4 in size and is filled with thick and matt pages of lots of illustrations and some text. Whether you’ve read the original story or not, this book is filled with lots of fun activities for kids to do. Each page or double page features something to do and there’s many different things from making food and objects to colouring and puzzle-solving.

We're Going on a Bear Hunt Activity Fun Book book page image one
©The Strawberry Post

 

From the first double page the activity shows the family who are off on their walk but the background is blank and they are only outlines in black and white. Kids are asked to create a sunny background for the characters and colour them in. There are lots of activities featuring chances to colour in and there are pages where kids can get more creative too, inventing their own patterns or designs. Other activities include some fun puzzles to solve including a wordsearch and then things to make, my favourite being the Bear Paw cookies which actually look like bear paws!

All the illustrations in the book are exactly like the ones in the original story. Every image is fun to look at and even more fun when you can colour them in. In places where there is more text, like the recipe instructions, there are lots of fun images surrounding the text so the book never feels boring. I like the back page especially, there is an activity that involves some standing figures of all the main characters. These can be popped out of the peforated card that’s attached to the back cover and put onto mini stands so you can play the story of We’re Going on a Bear Hunt yourself! And it doesn’t ruin the back cover as this is an additional piece of card.

We're Going on a Bear Hunt Activity Fun Book book page image two
©The Strawberry Post

 

There’s something so fun and engaging with activity books, I especially love ones that ask you to get creative and even as an adult I can’t help but want to design a cool pattern on the wellies (as asked on one page). I’ve really enjoyed this activity book and can recommend it to all kids who want to have some fun. It will go down better with kids who know the original story but it’s also a fun activity book for those that don’t and might introduce kids to the lovely world of We’re Going on a Bear Hunt.


Do you like ‘We’re Going on a Bear Hunt’?  What about activity books like these?  Let me know what you think in the comments below 🙂

Advertisement