Title: The Mortal Instruments Boxed Set
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publisher: Walker Books
Genre: Teen/young adult fiction, Fantasy – urban
Book format: Boxed set of paperbacks
Sweet Strawberries: Sweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet Strawberry

Description:  The Mortal Instruments collection – all six internationally bestselling Shadowhunters books in one beautiful set.
Discover the world of the Shadowhunters as they wage a terrifying war to keep the world safe from demons in the sensational and internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

*Free copy provided by publisher for review…

Review:  This is a brilliant box set of the whole Mortal Instruments series of six books: City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire. The box set comes wrapped in shrink wrap plastic which is good as it keeps the books and box safe. The box itself that the books are kept in is a good thickness and very sturdy. The books are neatly placed in the box with the covers facing outward and together all the covers form an image of the characters, which is the same image that also wraps around the three sides of the box!

The Mortal Instruments Boxed set image one
©The Strawberry Post

The books all have their own cover images, each with a different character on the front, although getting the books out of the box set was a bit tricky as they are packed so well (though not overly tight) that I had to put the box upside down and give it a very good shake before any of the books came out! Every book is paperback and has a good, normal sized print inside (compared to the larger sized print of the 10th anniversary edition of book one, which I’ve read).

The Mortal Instruments Boxed set image two
©The Strawberry Post

I’ve only read the first book in the series so far but I’ve been so keen to read more so I can’t wait to get stuck into these books. For those that don’t know, The Mortal Instruments is a YA(teen) urban fantasy series where all sorts of creatures we’ve heard stories of, vampires, werewolves, etc. are real. The first book in the series follows Clary, a seemingly normal teen girl living in New York who gets mixed up in a world of demons when something happens to her Mum. After that she meets others who are battling certain demons and Clary soon discovers she’s more involved in this dark world than she first thought.

The Mortal Instruments Boxed set image three
©The Strawberry Post

As I said I’ve read the first book in the series so as I read them all I’ll come back to this blog post and leave mini reviews here of each one, but for now I’m just excited by how amazing this box set looks, a perfect gift and I really can’t wait to start reading!

The Mortal Instruments Boxed set image four
©The Strawberry Post

City of Bones – Clary Fray is an ordinary teenage girl who goes to a club with her friend Simon, but while there she spots some suspicious looking people and follows them into the back of the club.  Something strange happens and she’s thrown into a world of demons and magic, a world she never knew existed.  This is a good first book to the series and I’m surprised the impact it’s left on me since reading, it’s exciting and interesting and makes you want to read more!

Have you read any books in the Mortal Instruments series?  Do you like urban fantasy or other types of fantasy novels?  Let me know what you think in the comments below 🙂