Title: Angie Thomas Collector’s Boxed Set
Author: Angie Thomas
Publisher: Walker Books
Genre: Teen/young adult fiction, Contemporary
Book format: Paperback (box set)
Sweet Strawberries: Sweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet Strawberry

Description (from Amazon):  Discover #1 New York Times bestselling author Angie Thomas with her two critically acclaimed, award-winning modern classics, On the Come Up, and The Hate U Give, now a major motion picture. This collection contains paperback editions of Angie’s powerful and gripping novels about justice, freedom of speech and fighting for your dreams, even as the odds are stacked against you. This stylish boxset is the perfect introduction to the “voice of a generation” or a gorgeous addition to any fan’s collection.

*Free copy provided by publisher for review…

Review:  This special boxed set of two Angie Thomas books is a great treat for anyone who doesn’t already own these two books. ‘The Hate U Give’ and ‘On the Come Up’ the first two books by Angie Thomas, are included here with their original UK covers. The books come in an outer sleeve-type box that’s made of card and fits nicely together and look good on any shelf.

Angie Thomas Collector's Boxed Set image one
©The Strawberry Post

I won’t go into too much detail about the books but if you’ve read even one of the books you’ll know that they are a powerful read and are definitely worth reading considering the subject matter, for example in ‘The Hate U Give’ a black teenager and friend of the main character Starr is shot unfairly by police one night with Starr as the only witness. Can she go to the police seeing as it was one of their own who shot her friend, and what will her white friends at the school that she goes to across town (in a white neighbourhood) or the black people of the community she lives in think if she does or doesn’t?

Angie Thomas Collector's Boxed Set image two
©The Strawberry Post

Although the titles are an interesting and powerful read I do feel I should point out that although the books are aimed at teenagers, younger teens who are more sensitive (incluing being sensitive to swearing in books) may not enjoy these as much as older teens who are more comfortable reading such things (to use ‘The Hate U Give’ as an example again, it’s full of the f and s swear words throughout and is quite a difficult read given what happens and the details the book goes into). For anyone though who enjoys Angie Thomas’s books though, or who wants to get the chance to read them then this is a good box set to get.

Angie Thomas Collector's Boxed Set image three
©The Strawberry Post

Unfortunately, despite saying that this is a great box set (and I always like a box set!) I am a bit disappointed with the actual ‘box’ you get. With other boxed sets of books you often get a nice and very sturdy box to hold these books in. But this one though is just made of simple card and is simply held into a box shape by a flap at the back which you can open, meaning you can then collapse the whole thing flat when there are no books inside. The disappointing thing about this is that when trying to put both books back into the ‘box’ at the same time, the flap ended up bending some of the pages of one book, and putting one book in followed by the other is a bit awkward when fitting the second book back (again due to how bendy the box is!).  So be aware that what you’re acutally getting is a bit of a flimsy box compared to some other box sets that are out there. However if you don’t own any of the books yet, or just want to own the pair, this is still a good buy as you get that outer sleeve-type box with the added images on the outside (even if it is just made of card).

-Read review of – The Hate U Give by clicking here.

Have you read any of Angie Thomas’ books yet?  Do you like books that talk about tough issues like these?  Let me know what you think in the comments below 🙂