Today I’d like to welcome you to my stop on the blog tour for Glass Coffin the third book in the Darkwood series.  Now, I didn’t read the first two books in the series before this one, even though I was advised it could be read as a standalone, but it doesn’t matter as I’m excited to share with you just how much I have loved, yes loved, this book!  A big thank you to Random Things Tours and Farrago for a copy of this book and for the chance to be on this tour!

Title: Glass Coffin (The Darkwoon Series #3)
Author: Gabby Hutchinson Crouch
Cover design: David Wardle
Publisher: Farrago
Genre: Teen/young adult fiction, Fantasy
Book format: Digital
Sweet Strawberries:  Sweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet Strawberry

Description: The tyrannous Huntsmen have declared everyone in one village to be outlaws, since they insist on supporting the magical beings of neighbouring Darkwood. Why won’t they accept that magic is an abomination?
Far from being abominable, the residents of Darkwood are actually very nice when you get to know them, even Snow the White Knight, who can get a bit tetchy when people remind her she’s a Princess.
In order to stop the Huntsmen from wiping out all magical beings, Snow and her friends have to venture into the Badlands of Ashtrie, and seek the support of the Glass Witch –but she has plans of her own, and let’s just say they’re not good ones.

*Free copy provided by publisher for review…

Review:  This is such a fun story and one I enjoyed much more than I expected! While the huntsmen’s leader vows to rid the place of every last magical being, Gretel, Snow and the others decide to go on a mission to recruit a powerful witch, the Glass Witch, to help them. But strange things begin to happen on their journey and the glass witch may not be so willing to help.

I have to admit that I had never read any of the books in the Darkwood trilogy before this one even though I was told, before this tour, that this one could be read as a standalone. It’s good but I really wish I had read the other two books first, as this story is just so good and I just wish I had known more about the characters and their back stories before diving into this one. The writing style, though, made me enjoy reading this straight away and I found myself smiling and often laughing at some of the things happening.  At the start of the book something happens to Gretel and then with Jack and Hex, and soon after the group decide they must separate, with some of them going off to find the Glass Witch while the others head off to the Citadel. The story follows both parties as well as a few others who are left behind to wait for them. I didn’t know the characters in detail before I started this book and although I of course knew how the chracters are based on well known fairy tales, I didn’t know everything that had happened in the previous two books which did make it a little harder to really get into until I was about a quarter/third way into the book.

The story is funny and also exciting. I like what happens to the characters and the adventure they all have.  I especially liked what happened with Buttercup who shows herself to be stronger and more resilient than expected. I love how she constantly turns things into pastries and breads even at dramtic moments, and I also loved all the moments with Trevor the talking spider who made the whole story much more fun and funny. A lot happens in the Citadel and I like how interesting and some of the charcters are, with their different abilities.  The story is exciting and also gets very dramatic especially the moments with the Glass witch.  I love how that particular fairy tale comes to life, the back story to it and how different and unexpected it is.

Even though I wasn’t sure about reading this at first, I was completely invested in the story after about a third of the way in and and I couldn’t put this book down as I just wanted to see what would happen. The ending is really good with so much happening, some dramatic moments, some sad and also some interesting and unexpected surprises too! I really like the conclusion to the tale and how things work out for so many of the characters and what ends up happening with them all. Even though this is a ya book I don’t think there’s anything triggering in this and it’s just such a funny and brilliant story with some often very silly moments. It feels like a book that slightly younger readers could enjoy too. At the start of the book is a guide to all the characters which was good for me as I didn’t know them and a good catch up for anyone who’s forgotten after reading the previous books.

Reading this book before the first two I do feel that I missed out a little and especially at the beginning in not really knowing what had happened to the characters before. But the author does do a good job of giving you some of the back story within the novel and by the end I felt I did know the characters and had even grown to love many of them! I was told that the book could be read as a standalone and it can, it’s certainly made me interested in reading the rest of the trilogy, however, I do recommend reading the first books before this one if you can, as I think you’ll just get more enjoyment out of it if you do. I’m certainly going to read the first two books in the series as soon as I can as this book has made me want to find out more about these characters and their adventures before this!

Overall I’d recommend this book, even after just reading the last book in the series, it really is a brilliant story and I can’t wait to read more of this author’s work. I just love the writing style so much, it’s just so fun and made me laugh in so many places, but with a sweet story and some great and dramatic momentstoo that I’m sure any fan of fairy tales, that have some interesting twists, will  love to read this!

Buy the Book

Glass Coffin book cover

Buy from publisher’s wesite    Buy from Amazon UK

About the Author

Gabby Hutchinson Crouch Author pic

Gabby Hutchinson Crouch (Horrible Histories,Newzoids,The News Quiz,The Now Show) has a background in satire, and with the global political climate as it is, believes that now is an important time to explore themes of authoritarianism and intolerance in comedy and fiction. Born in Pontypool in Wales, and raised in Ilkeston, Derbyshire, Gabby now lives in Canterbury.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my stop on this blog tour and please do check out the other stops on the tour 🙂

What do you think of this book?  Have you read any other books in this trilogy?  Let me know what you think in the comments below 🙂