Today I’m excited to welcome you to my slightly belated stop on the blog tour for You’ll Be the Death of Me a fantastic ya thriller by Karen M. McManus.  I have so far loved every single book that I’ve read by this author and this one is no exception!  You can find out more about the book and my thoughts about it below, but first I just want to say a big thank you to The Write Reads for the chance to read this book and be a part of the blog tour.  Now let’s see why I loved this book so much…

Title: You’ll Be the Death of Me
Author: Karen M. McManus
Publisher: Penguin
Genre: Young adult/teen fiction, Thriller
Book format: Pre-publication digital copy
Sweet Strawberries: Sweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet StrawberrySweet Strawberry

Description: From the author of One of Us Is Lying comes a brand new addictive thriller.
Ivy, Mateo and Cal used to be close – best friends back in middle school.
Now all they have in common is a bad day. So for old time’s sake they skip school together – one last time.
But when the trio spot Brian ‘Boney’ Mahoney ditching class too, they follow him – right into a murder scene.
They all have a connection to the victim. And they’re ALL hiding something.
When their day of freedom turns deadly, it’s only a matter of time before the truth comes out . . .
It’s Ferris Bueller’s Day Off with murder, perfect for fans of One Of Us Is Lying and A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder. This explosive new thriller is impossible to put down.

*Free copy provided by publisher for review…

Review:  Ivy, Cal and Mateo used to be good friends but as seniors in high school they’ve since lost touch.  One day when anticipating a bad day at school, the three of them decide to skip school and go into Boston instead.  While there, they spot another kid from school, and decide to follow him to see why he skipped school too.  But when they finally catch up with him, he’s dead, and with police sirens approaching, they decide to flee the scene, with terrible consequences.

I really enjoyed this book and was hooked from the very start!  When Ivy, Cal and Mateo decide to skip school they think it will be like old times when the three of them used to hang out, but after finding their classmate dead, the three run away from the crime scene and try to work out what happened.  They can’t just go to the police and tell them what happened, because they could be suspects of the crime, and when one of them is soon implicated as a possible suspect it makes it even harder for all of them to simply tell the truth.

Like with all the book I’ve read so far by McManus, this one is as brilliantly twisty as the others.  The book is narrated in the first person and each chapter is told from a different point of view, either Ivy, Cal or Mateo’s.  I like the way things go and what happens throughout the story, although the build up to finding their classmate dead was a little slow at first.  I enjoyed getting to know all of the characters and the things that were revealed about them kept me glued to the pages.  There are a lot of interesting and shocking moments I wasn’t expecting and I love how every chapter has more and more information revealed leaving you wondering who is behind everything and why.

I enjoyed all the different viewpoints and how different all of the characters are and how different their circumstances are.  There is a great build up towards the ending and I do like what happens in the end and what’s finally revealed, even in the last chapter.  There are some great twists in this book that kept me gasping with shock, but if I’m honest, I did manage to guess one or two twists towards the end, especially the one in the last chapter, several paragraphs before it was revealed.  I don’t know if this is because it was more obvious, or because I’ve read so many thriller books by this author that I’m now getting good at spotting the twists! 🙂

The book has occasional use of the s and f swear words, there are also a few descriptions of fighting and a death and mentions of drugs though there’s nothing overly descriptive or gruesome.  There are some interesting twists that really will shock you and I just love how this book kept me guessing all the time!  Overall, if I’m honest this wasn’t my favourite book by McManus (for me that’s still The Cousins – maybe because I just love the setting of that story! 😀 ) but this was such a good story and I love how I didn’t guess what was happening throughout (only managing to guess a couple of final twists a few moments before they were revealed).  The whole story was very satisfying to read and it’s definitely another brilliant thriller I’d recommend for anyone who is a fan of McManus, oranyone  wants to try reading a great ya high school thriller!

Buy the book

You'll Be the Death of Me book cover

Buy from Amazon UK    Buy from Amazon US

About the Author

Karen M. McManus author pic

Karen M. McManus is the #1 New York Times and international bestselling author of young adult thriller/mystery novels, including One of Us Is Lying, One of Us Is Next, Two Can Keep a Secret, and The Cousins. You’ll Be the Death of Me will be her next novel, publishing December 2021. Her work has been translated into more than 40 languages worldwide. Karen lives in Massachusetts and holds a master’s degree in Journalism from Northeastern University, which she mostly uses to draft fake news stories for her novels.

Visit author’s website    Visit author on Twitter    Visit author on Instagram

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed my stop on the blog tour for this amazing novel!  Please do go read it if you have the chance, it’s brilliant! 😀


What do you think of this book?  Have you read any books by Karen M. McManus?  Let me know what you think in the comments below 🙂

Advertisement